History of the Trust

Founder of the Trust

E.A.G Moses

Founder of the Trust

As part of its non-bargaining activity, the SBIOA (Chennai Circle) sponsored the State Bank of India Officers’ Association Educational Trust in the year 1978 and was inaugurated on the 6th June 1979 to synchronize with International Year of the Child. The SBIOA Educational Trust was registered as a Society under Societies Registration Act, to establish and manage educational institutions for the benefit of the members’ children as well as deserving students irrespective of caste, colour or creed.

The State Bank of India Officers' Association Educational Trust was formed in 1978 with the following primary objectives:

1. To establish and manage educational Institutions including Primary School, Secondary Schools, Higher Secondary Schools, Polytechniques, Vocational Training Centre, Colleges (Technical and Academic) solely for educational purpose.

2. To run Hostels and Research Institutions to aid the object of running educational Institutions.

3. To Co-operate with the Government, Educational Institutions and other agencies in providing educational facilities.

4. To solicit, receive, hold and disburse funds to promote the above objects; The educational Institutions established by the Trust shall serve the needy and deserving students, irrespective of caste colour, creed or nationality but in admitting the students preference is given to the children of the SBI and other Banks/Organizations affiliated to AICOBOO.

The first project of the SBIOA Educational Trust is the school started in June 1979 at Anna Nagar Western Extension, Chennai in a compact area of 6.2 acres and at the same time i.e. 1979 the Trust has taken over the primary school in Madurai for developing it into a High School.At present, the Trust runs three schools at Chennai, two schools at Madurai and Trichy and one each at Coimbatore and Ernakulam. One school at Chennai and the school at Ernakulam are affiliated to Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi. Two schools at Chennai and schools at Madurai, Coimbatore and Trichy are affiliated to the Board of Matriculation Schools, Govt. of Tamil Nadu. One school at Madurai and one at Trichy started during this academic year, are to be affiliated to CBSE, New Delhi, in due course.